My Breather

Prior to the previous post, i found my breather!

Jay and I caught The Idea of North live at Fly by Night Musicians Club last night.

It was awesome!! The best night i’ve had in a long long time.

Fly by Night is a little gem hidden in the heart of Fremantle and it’s like something you see from the movies. A neat bar inside, tables an candlelights, as well as comfortable benches. If you’re in Perth you might want to find some time to catch a gig there.


The bar

I don’t think we were allowed to take any pictures, but i did anyway πŸ˜‰ We were seated on the 2nd row from the front and it was awesome except that in all my pictures, there’s an old lady’s head in it. Sigh.


L-R: Andrew, Naomi, Sally(fill in for Trish who’s on maternity leave), Nick

The Idea of North (TION) is what started out as four students from the Australian National University(ANU). They’re an A Capella group whom fans find hard to categorise what genre they fall in because they cover almost about everything. And they’ve got really good self composed songs as well.

edit: I’ve taken down the videos i took of them due to copyright issues. But here’s a video of them i found in Youtube singing a Korean song.

It was a good 2.5 hours of good soulful music and best of all, I had two surprises!

We were asked to fill in a little piece of card and hand it in. During the short interval, Nick casted 2 cards out and that lucky 2 would win something!

And I was one of them πŸ˜€ Never in my life have i been so lucky in a lucky draw.

Later that night, after dilemmas of whether or not to buy their newly launched DVD, i didn’t. Regretted it later.

BUT BUT BUT!!

Jay surprised me with the entire collection of their CDs and DVD as my birthday gift πŸ˜€ Thank you thank you!


The Idea of North full collection

And because it ended half an hour later than expected, I had to run like mad in heels to catch my bus. As most of you Perthians knows, the railways are temporarily shut down so I had to run to catch the rail replacement bus to Perth Train Station and then run again to Esplanade Busport.

But all’s good because I made it in time for the last bus πŸ˜€

Awesome night despite the blisters πŸ˜€

3 thoughts on “My Breather

  1. they sound good! but i cant catch the lyrics in the chicken one` heh. lucky u ey.

    someones turning 1 yr older in less than a day. olddddddddddd!

Leave a Reply

