Imaginary Friends

I just finished watching Mr Magorium’s Wonder Emporium…and the movie got me thinking.

You know how kids have imaginary friends?

I’ll be so freaked out if my kid has one in the future.

Imagine them insisting that there is someone there. Talking to them. But you can’t see them.

“Mum, he wants to come to bed with me too.”

“Honey, there’s no one there. Now, go and sleep already.”

“He’s there! Standing by the window.”

-_-”

Omg. And they say that kids can see things as well.

Sigh. Parenthood 😀

5 thoughts on “Imaginary Friends

  1. Imaginary friends aren’t meant to be scary. They may just be an indication that your child is more sensitive to what is around us that we are. I know it’s difficult when we can’t see things and we have been taught through movies and media that things we cannot see are scary. But, this is a learned behaviour to be afraid of that which we cannot see. I am a level-headed 26 year old and I see/feel things which other people do not recognize as being there. It used to scare me, A LOT, but now I have a sense of calm about it. I know that everything I see and feel does exist, just in a different dimension.
    I know this was posted awhile ago, but I wanted to bring this up so that you have someone to throw concerns to if you child does start to have imaginary friends or see things.
    All the best!

Leave a Reply

