That Damn Language, English

When asked what my favorite language is, i will say Manglish.

I’m so notorious for adding lahs and mahs and kahs to my sentences. So much so that i’ll be a billionaire if i get a cent for every lahs i add to my sentences.

Ironically, when i have to speak formally, i always have this accent and people always ask me if i’m Irish or Canadian or British or alien wtf. It’s like all the Manglish disappears and i can actually speak proper English.

But sigh!

I’ve been here in Australia for a year and i still havent gotten rid of my Manglish! Actually…i think its gotten worse :X

My housemates are all Asian. Malaysian and Singaporean to be specific.

Oh by the way, i now have 6 housemates…7 of us under 1 roof. Oh. Erm. 6 guys. At least if got robber or some boogeyman i can just yell and hopefully those guys can kill the momok hiding under my bed. But 2 of them take so much protein powder and shit i wonder if they can put it to good use….ie killing momoks. Hm… 😀

Ok ok back to the point.

At least in Kuching my dad kinda points out if im using too many lahs. Although i’m sure all Malaysian does that. And theres the occasional Hokkien or Hakka. But here…hrmmm…Manglish FTW!

And last year, about 98% of my classmates are Asian.

This year, its vice versa. Infact, i am the ONLY Asian in my creative arts class.

So traumatising okay? But its all good i suppose. I just have to becareful not to use those lah leh loh lohs in uni.

Only when i come back home i can start speaking freely again.

And also use sentences like…

See! Mine the most huggest!

Oh i think this is my most free-est uni semester loh!

You eat what?

You go where?

I believe that is why we Asians tend to feel very awkward with the Caucasians. Its because we literally think twice before we speak. And we have to change the way we act and speak so that they don’t think we’re weird. But boy do i hate people with broken English and fake accents!!!!

What to do lah hor. We are Malaysians mah!

8 thoughts on “That Damn Language, English

  1. “Ironically, when i have to speak formally, i always have this accent and people always ask me if i’m Irish or Canadian or British or alien wtf.”

    happens to us all. mainly for me, my accent is composed of so many sub accents + a little of an asian one too, so….

    no one can identify me, because one minute I sound American, then British, then kiwi, then australian.. you get the idea…

    or at least thats what the whites tell me. asians tell me I speak just fine =)

  2. gabe: yeahhhhh! same. i reckon its bcuz i watch too much tv series as well. hmmm. hehehe.

    mr chan: u sick sick boy!! im so bored. bored i am soooooo bored. 😦

    bawee: malaysia boleh! apa apa pun boleh 😛 havent heard from u for a while btw. hope ure all well and dandy!

Leave a Reply

