A Plea For Help

I’ve been struggling lately to get through to a student of mine.

He’s around 8 i think, autistic but with a great sense of pitch and rhythm.

I’ve been doing so much research lately and i really really really wanna help this boy. His mum is sweet, encouraging but how do one teach music to an autistic child?

They’ve got no sense of creativity, imagination or anything like that. I’ve tried songs, pictures and imitation…lots of repetition in class but i think i need to go along the lines of music therapy. I know he has the potential…and he really enjoys music. I think he deserves every bit to continue…but im at a lost.

If any of you googled and come across this…please leave me a comment or email me if you can help.

Thanks (:

Leave a Reply

